Initial details confirmed for 2013 Goodwood Festival of Speed - Team VVV

News Initial details confirmed for 2013 Goodwood Festival of Speed


James Allen


Posted on

The first batch of confirmed details of the 2013 Goodwood Festival of Speed have been released, ahead of the fabled event's 11th – 14th July duration.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the Festival itself, and – as befitting of such an occasion – plenty has been lined up to mark the FoS's birthday.

According to the press release, the line-up of this year's Festival is a Greatest Hits compilation of past stars and highlights, though no official headline acts were explicitly mentioned.

2013 also marks other noteworthy anniversaries, with some of the more high-profile birthday's being Lamborghini's and McLaren Racing's 50th, 40 years of the World Rally Championship and 90 years of the iconic 24 Heures du Mans endurance race.

It's Porsche, though, that'll be the main attraction at this year's Festival of Speed, with the rear-engined 911 sports car celebrating its 50th birthday. As a result, the celebratory sculpture outside Goodwood House will almost certainly be 911-themed.

Other attractions include the Cartier Style et Luxe concourse event, which is centered around the 'The Greatest Car Designs In The World' theme, and claims of a more spectator-friendly Forest Rally Stage means it should be easier to see the wide array of rally machinery from across the ages traverse the tough on-site rally stage mock-up.

The Goodwood Festival of Speed will also be the launchpad for several world debuts, with Lexus, Peugeot and Skoda all saying they'll be showcasing production-ready and/or concepts that have never been showcased in public before.

It's the Supercar and Formula One paddocks, though, that'll most likely attract the biggest crowds: the former is being sponsored by Michelin this year, and will mark the McLaren P1 supercar's public debut in the UK, whilst the latter has had seven of the eleven 2013 F1 teams (Red Bull Racing, McLaren, Mercedes, Ferrari, Lotus, Caterham and Marussia) confirmed for attendance.

It's incredibly likely, though, that the remaining four will also confirm their presence at Goodwood this year at a later date, especially the two – Williams and Force India – that are based in the UK.

A whole host of high-profile, legendary racing drivers past and present, though, have been confirmed for attendance, with the list so far going as follows:

  • Rauno Aaltonen (Finnish WRC driver in the 1970s, nicknamed 'The Rally Professor' )
  • Richard Attwood (Won 1970 24 Heures du Mans in a Porsche 917K)
  • Derek Bell (Five-times 24 Heures du Mans winner, three-times Daytona 24 winner, two-times World Sportscar Champion)
  • David Brabham (Won 2009 24 Heures du Mans in a Peugeot 908 HDi, two-times ALMS champion, son of F1 champion Sir Jack Brabham)
  • Kenny Brack (Winner of 1999 Indy 500, 1998 Indy Racing League champion)
  • Russell Brookes (Two-times British Rally Champion)
  • Tony Brooks (Former F1 driver in the 1950s and 1960s)
  • Ron Chandler (Former Grand Prix motorcycle rider)
  • David Coulthard (Former F1 and DTM driver, current BBC F1 pundit)
  • Vic Elford (Former F1 and World Sportscar driver, won 1971 12 Hours of Sebring and 1968 24 Hours of Daytona for Porsche
  • Emerson Fittipaldi (Two-times F1 Champion and Indy 500 winner, 1989 CART Champion)
  • Stuart Graham (Former Grand Prix motorcyle road racer)
  • Jochen Mass (Former F1 and endurance race driver, won 24 Heures du Mans in a Sauber/Mercedes C9)
  • Arturo Merzario (Former F1 driver, two-times winner of the notorious Targa Florio)
  • Hannu Mikkola (1983 World Rally Champion)
  • Stirling Moss (One of the legends of motorsport. 'Nuff said)
  • Henri Pescarolo (Four-times 24 Heures du Mans winner, owner of the Pescarolo racing team)
  • Win Percy (Three-times BTCC champion)
  • Emanuele Pirro (Five-times 24 Heures du Mans winner)
  • Alain Prost (Four-times F1 Champion, nicknamed 'The Professor' )
  • Brian Redman (1970 Targa Florio winner, two-times 12 Hour of Sebring winner, four-times Spa-Francorchamps 1000km winner)
  • Anthony Reid (former touring car and current British GT driver)
  • Jack Sears (Two-times British Saloon Car Championship winner)
  • Steve Soper (Former endurance and touring car driver)
  • Jackie Stewart (Three-times F1 Champion)
  • John Surtees (Three-times 500cc Motorcyle World Champion, 1964 F1 Champion)
  • Bobby Unser (Three-times Indy 500 winner)
  • John Whitmore (British Saloon Car Championship and European Touring Car Championship winner, regular historic car racer at Goodwood Revival)

We'll keep this page updated as more and more details about the 2013 Goodwood Festival of Speed are announced. In the meantime, if you're interested in buying tickets, you can find pricing and purchase details at the official website.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x